We have four Buddha images enshrined at Bo Hyun Sa Temple:

Soekamoni Bul , ‘The Light of the Sakas,’ is the historical Buddha. Born as Siddartha Gautama, he let go of his position as the Crown Prince of Kapalivastu to find the end of suffering, and has led multitudes of sentient beings to Awakening and Enlightenment.


Jijang Bosal, also known as Ksitigarbha, is the Bodhisattva of practice and Buddhist learning. His vajra-staff opens the gates of hell to free hell- dwellers from their suffering, and he has vowed not to attain Buddhahood until all of the many kinds of hell are emptied.

Kwanseum Bosal, also known as Avalokitesvara, is the Bodhisattva of compassion. He made a great vow to assist all beings in times of difficulty, and to postpone his own Buddhahood until all sentient beings attain Enlightenment and the bliss of Nirvāna.

Bohyun Bosal, also known as Samantabhadra, is the Bodhisattva of meditation and the maker of the Ten Vows which form the basis of Bodhisattva practice. He is the patron of the Avatamsaka Sutra, the Lotus Sutra, and the name sake of Bo Hyun Sa Temple.